A stroller of intrigue and mystery

A stroller of intrigue and mystery

I never knew my double stroller from the states would be such a fascinating object here in Qom. But sometimes when we are walking with our side-by-side double stroller on the streets of Qom, I feel like we are walking with a celebrity.

Heads turn, adults excitedly point, children stare…… it’s interesting, to say the least.

Some locals have even peeked under the canopies to see what we have. Yes, two kids. Hence the double stroller.

My husband thinks that people get nosy because they think we have twins. But clearly you can see my 3.5-year-old daughter and my 1.5-year-old son – are not twins.

It has gotten to the point where we sometimes don’t travel with the double stroller. It’s worth it not to be stared at constantly when it’s not much except a side-by-side stroller.

But I have to remind myself, that although Iranian culture is very warm and friendly, it can be a bit on the intrusive side.

I remember a winter when we were walking towards the haram of Hazrat Masooma, when Marium’s jacket hood must have slipped off. She was being stubborn and didn’t want it back on. I just pulled over the canopy and kept walking. But everyone stopped us!

“Her hood! She’ll catch a cold.”

“She’s going to get sick!”

At first we would politely oblige, but each time Marium would make a bigger fuss. I told my husband we will just politely ignore them. It’s not worth it!

I have to keep reminding myself: They mean well, really.

I got pretty excited when I saw a local baby gear shop with a side-by-side double stroller in the window. Hooray! Now we won’t be the only ones with this “weird” contraption.

I can’t wait to go back to my single stroller days….

Leave a Reply

